脊髓損傷 (Spinal Cord Injury)

下載PDF

脊髓損傷就是對脊椎的傷害,會影響到你的運動、感覺或器官的工作方式。 損傷可以因脊椎的割傷、拉伸或腫塊而發生。 損傷也可以是由病毒、腫瘤或中風所造成。 每個脊髓損傷都不一樣。 症狀和康復取決於發生的位置和嚴重程度。 脊髓受傷后,大多數人能恢復部分功能。恢復的程度取決於很多因素。

什么是脊椎?
Spinal Cord Levels 你的脊椎就是你的背骨。 它是一個骨頭和軟骨的柱形體,用來保護你的脊髓。 脊椎由33塊被稱作為椎骨的骨頭組成。 這些椎骨根據它們在你體内的位置命名。

  • 頸部: 7塊頸椎骨(C1-C7)
  • 背的上部/中部: 12塊胸椎骨(T1-T12)
  • 背的下部:5塊腰椎骨(L1-L5)
  • 骨盆: 5塊融合骶椎骨(S1-S5)
  • 尾骨: 4塊融合尾椎骨
什么是脊髓?

脊髓是一叢連接你的大腦和身體的神經元和纖維束, 它通過你脊椎上的一個孔從你的頸部貫穿到你的下背部。 你的脊髓是你大腦的連續。 每個椎骨都有脊髓神經的分支。 脊髓神經與你的皮膚、肌肉和器官相連接。

你的脊髓大約有45釐米(1.5英尺)長,重約35克(1.2盎司),有你的小指那麽粗,包含約十億個神經元,其中有神經元也有神經纖維。 某些神經纖維要從大腦長途跋涉,才最終到達你的脊髓。 當神經纖維受損時,會很難治愈。
Spinal Cord Levels 每一根都有一個特定的功能。你的大腦就是通過你的脊髓來和你的皮膚、肌肉和器官進行交流的。

什么是脊髓損傷?

脊髓損傷是導致功能喪失的脊髓傷害, 可以包括運動和感覺(知覺)。 脊髓損傷會影響你手、手臂和腿的運動, 也會影響涉及腸、膀胱和性功能的器官。 創傷性或非創傷性原因都可以造成脊髓傷害。

創傷性損傷: S直接傷害可以造成脊髓損傷。 跌倒、車禍、運動損傷或其他事故都會造成創傷性損傷。

非創傷性損傷: 當損傷不是由直接物理傷害造成的,即被稱爲非創傷性。 這可能因感染、腫瘤、中風或疾病而發生。

創傷性損傷 非創傷性損傷
頸部或背部骨折 腫塊
割傷或脊髓骨刺 腫瘤
錯位 – 骨骼移位 出血或靜/動脈阻塞
韌帶損傷和撕裂 病毒或細菌(例如肺結核)
什麽是損傷水平?

損傷水平是指有正常感覺和力量的身體的最低水平。 在損傷水平之下,你的大腦和你的身體之間就只有微弱或沒有聯係了。 在多數情況下,你的損傷水平有別于你的受傷椎骨。 這是因爲你的脊髓神經高於和低於你的椎骨。 高於和低於受影響椎骨的出血和腫塊也會造成更大的傷害。

截癱 (T2至S5): 截癱患者因背部損傷而雙腿虛弱或癱瘓。 腿部的部分或全部肌肉虛弱或癱瘓,但雙手功能正常。 腹部和胸部肌肉也可能受影響。 腸、膀胱和性功能通常也受到影響。

四肢癱瘓(全癱, C1 至 T1): 全癱患者與截癱患者有相同的弱點。 由於損傷是在頸部,他們的手臂、手和手指也很虛弱。 如果傷位較高,呼吸和吞嚥也會受影響。

脊髓神經 肌肉或關節 功能
C1-C2 舌、頸、喉 頸部運動、吞嚥
C3 橫隔膜 呼吸
C4 橫隔膜、斜方肌 呼吸、聳肩
C5 肱二頭肌、肩膀 彎肘、擧臂
C6 手腕 手腕向後彎
C7 肱三頭肌 伸直肘部
C8 食指、拇指、中指 抓物
T1 小指、無名指 手指運動
T2-T12 胸腹 身姿、坐直
L1-L2 臀部 擡腿
L3-L4 膝蓋和腳踝 行走
S1 腿、腳趾、肛門、膀胱 行走、膀胱、腸道功能
S2-S5 肛門、膀胱、生殖器 膀胱、腸道、性功能
你的身體可能隨時閒而起變化,如果你注意到任何運動或感覺喪失,請立即通知你的醫生。
你的損傷有多嚴重?

你的損傷有多嚴重取決於對脊髓的損傷程度。 最嚴重的就是脊柱被完全切斷或損壞。 美國脊椎損傷協會(ASIA)就損傷的嚴重程度提供了一份指南。 醫生可以對你做些測試,找出你的ASIA機能損傷等級(AIS)。 你的AIS在恢復過程中會得到改善。

完全損傷 (AIS A): 如果你無法感覺或運動直腸或肛門,你有完全損傷。 這是因爲脊髓的最遠連接控制你的陰部和肛門。 完全損傷並不意味著脊椎被完全切斷, 而是說你的大腦和脊椎末端失聯。 完全損傷的AIS等級為“A”。 某些情況下,在損傷水平下數節段仍有一些運動或感覺, 這被稱作“部分保留區”。

不完全損傷(AIS B-D): ): 在不完全損傷時,損傷水平以下仍有某些聯係。 這就是說,在損傷水平以下你會有一些感覺和運動。 作爲不完全損傷,你必須至少在肛門或直腸處有感覺或肌肉活動。 如果是這種情況,你的損傷至少為AIS等級“B”。 如果你在損傷區以下還有微弱的運動,你的損傷為AIS等級“C”。 如果你的運動較有力但仍不正常,你的損傷為AIS等級“D”。 正常力量和感覺被歸類為AIS等級“E”。

ASIA 機能損傷等級 (AIS)

這個等級表按你的損傷水平以下有多少運動或感覺分類。

AIS 类型 说明
A 完全損傷 無感覺或運動。
B 感覺機能不完全 一些感覺但無運動。
C

D

運動機能不完全 一些感覺和運動。 AIS D比AIS C有更多的運動。
E 正常 完全運動和感覺。
你能期待什麽樣的康復?

多數恢復發生在受傷後的第一年。 有些人可能在受傷後長達2到3年的時間裏獲得更多一些的恢復。 脊髓損傷的康復取決於很多因素, 你的年齡、損傷類型和其它醫療條件都會影響你的康復。 你在康復上投入的時間和精力也起著很大的作用。

脊髓損傷的康復可以是肌肉比較有力和感覺的恢復。恢復也可能意味著學習如何面對損傷。 許多人無法完全康復。 你的身體也不再能與受傷前發揮完全一樣的作用。 你可能需要學會用新的方法來做到你受傷前能做的事情。 你越努力,也就康復得越多。

你還能走路嗎?

對於受傷後仍有一些運動機能(AIS“C”和“D”)的人來説,肌肉強度的康復可能性較高。 大多數人在運動或感覺上會有一些改善。 如果大量的脊柱連接仍然存在,這些人還能再次學會走路。 和你的醫生談談你的康復。 他們會幫助你了解可以預期的結果。

研究的進展每天都在發生。在你康復期間,要保持健康。這樣,當有新的治療方法可用時,你的身體會有一個良好的狀態來接受治療。
免責聲明:

Spinal Cord Injury

Download

A spinal cord injury is damage to your spinal cord that affects your movement, feeling, or the way your organs work. The injury can happen by cutting, stretching, or swelling of the spinal cord. Injury can also be caused by viruses, tumors, or stroke. Every spinal cord injury is different. Symptoms and recovery depend on where it happened and how severe it is. After a spinal cord injury, most people recover some function. The amount of recovery depends on a lot of factors.

What is the Spine?
Spinal Cord Levels Your spine is your back bone. It’s a column of bones and cartilage that protects your spinal cord. The spine is made up of 33 bones called vertebrae. These vertebrae are named according to their location in your body.

  • Neck: 7 cervical vertebrae (C1-C7)
  • Upper/mid back: 12 thoracic vertebrae (T1-T12)
  • Lower Back: 5 lumbar vertebrae (L1-L5)
  • Pelvis: 5 fused sacral vertebrae (S1-S5)
  • Tailbone: 4 fused vertebrae of the coccyx
What is the Spinal Cord?

The spinal cord is a bundle of nerve cells and fibres that connect your brain to your body. It runs through a hole in your spine from your neck to your lower back. Your spinal cord is continuous with your brain. At each vertebra, spinal nerves branch out. Spinal nerves connect with your skin, muscles, and organs. Each one has a specific function. It is through your spinal cord that your brain speaks and listens to your skin, muscles, and organs.

Your spinal cord is about 45 cm (1.5’) long and weighs only about 35g (1.2oz). It is as thick as your pinky finger and has about one billion nerve cells. Spinal Cord LevelsIt has both nerve cells and nerve fibers. Some nerve fibers travel a long distance from the brain before ending in your spinal cord. When nerve fibers are damaged, it is very difficult to heal them.

What is a Spinal Cord Injury?

A spinal cord injury is damage to the spinal cord that causes loss of function. This can include movement and feeling (sensation). Spinal cord injury can affect the movement of your hands, arms, and legs. It can also affect your organs involved with bowel, bladder, and sexual function. Damage to the spinal cord can be caused from trauma or from non-traumatic causes.

Traumatic Injury: Spinal cord injury can be caused by direct injury. Traumatic injuries are caused from falls, car crashes, sports injuries, or other accidents.

Non-traumatic Injury: When injuries are not caused by direct physical injury, they are called non-traumatic. This can happen because of an infection, tumour, stroke, or disease.

Traumatic Injury Non-Traumatic Injury
Broken bones in your neck or back Swelling
Cutting or piercing of the spinal cord Tumor
Dislocation – bones shifting out of position Bleeding or blocked vein/artery
Ligament injuries and tears Viruses or bacteria (e.g. tuberculosis)
What is Your Level of Injury?

Your level of injury is the lowest level of your body that has normal feeling and strength. Below your level of injury, you have weak or no connections between your brain and your body. Most of the time, your level of injury is different from your injured vertebra. This is because your spinal nerves come out above and below your vertebrae. Bleeding and swelling above and below the affected vertebra bones can also cause more damage.

Paraplegia (T2 to S5): People with paraplegia have weak or paralyzed legs due to a back injury. Some or all of the leg muscles are weak or paralyzed but hands have normal function. Abdomen and chest muscles can also be affected. Often, bowel, bladder, and sexual function are also affected.

Tetraplegia (Quadriplegia, C1 to T1): People with tetraplegia have the same weakness as people with paraplegia. Since the injury is in the neck, they also have weakness in their arms, hands, and fingers. With higher injuries, breathing and swallowing can also be affected.

Spinal Nerve Muscle or Joint Function
C1-C2 Tongue, neck, throat Neck movement, swallowing
C3 Diaphragm Breathing
C4 Diaphragm, trapezius Breathing, shrug
C5 Biceps, shoulder Bend elbow, lift arm
C6 Wrist Bend wrist towards back of hand
C7 Triceps Straighten elbow
C8 Index, thumb, middle finger Grabbing objects
T1 Pinky, ring finger Finger movement
T2-T12 Chest, abdominal Posture, sitting upright
L1-L2 Hip Lift leg
L3-L4 Knee and ankles Walking
S1 Leg, toes, anus, bladder Walking, bladder, bowel function
S2-S5 Anus, bladder, genitals Bladder, bowel, sexual function
Your body may change over time. Let your doctor know right away if you notice any loss of movement or feeling.
How Severe is Your Injury?

How severe your injury depends on how much damage was done to the spinal cord. The most severe is when the cord is fully cut or damaged. The American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) has a guide for how severe your injury is. A doctor can test you to find out your ASIA Impairment Scale (AIS). Your AIS can improve during recovery.

Complete Injury (AIS A): If you don’t have feeling or movement in your rectum or anus, you have a complete injury. This is because the spinal cord’s furthest connections control your genitals and anus. A complete injury does not mean that the cord was cut fully. It means that a connection is missing between your brain and the end of the cord. A complete injury is AIS ‘A’. In some cases, there is some spared movement or feeling for several segments below the level of injury. This is called a ‘zone of partial preservation’.

Incomplete Injury (AIS B-D): With an incomplete injury, some connections are still present below your level of injury. This means that you will have some feeling and movement below the level of your injury. For your injury to be incomplete, you must at least have feeling or muscle activity in your anus or rectum. If this is the case, your injury is at least AIS ‘B’. If you also have weak movement below the area of your injury, your injury is AIS ‘C’. If your movement is stronger but still not normal, your injury is AIS ‘D’. Normal strength and feeling is classified as AIS ‘E’.

ASIA Impairment Scale (AIS)

A scale that scores how much movement or feeling you have below your level of injury.

AIS Type Description
A Complete Injury No feeling or movement.
B Sensory Incomplete Some feeling but no movement.
C

D

Motor Incomplete Some feeling and movement. AIS D has more movement than AIS C.
E Normal Full movement and feeling.
What Kind of Recovery Can You Expect?

Most of your recovery happens during the first year after your injury. Some people might gain a little more recovery for up to 2 or 3 years after the injury. Your recovery from spinal cord injury depends on many things. Your age, type of injury, and other medical conditions all affect your recovery. The time and effort you put into your recovery also play a large role.

Recovery from spinal cord injury can mean getting stronger and getting feeling back. Recovery can also mean learning how to live with your injury. Many people don’t have a full recovery. Your body might no longer function exactly like it did before the injury. You might need to learn new ways to do the things you could do before your injury. The more you try, the more you will recover.

Will You Walk Again?

Recovery of strength is higher in people with some movement right after the injury (AIS ‘C’ and ‘D’). Most people get some improvement in movement or feeling. Some people do learn to walk again if a lot of spine connections are still there. Talk to your doctor about your recovery. They will help you understand what you can expect.

Advances in research are happening every day. During your recovery, stay healthy. When new treatment becomes available, your body will be in a good condition to receive them.
Disclaimer: Information is provided for educational purposes only. Consult a qualified health professional regarding specific medical concerns or treatment. University Health Network does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by errors or omissions in this publication.