膀胱和尿路感染 (UTI)

下載PDF

脊髓損傷後,膀胱感染是最常見的健康問題之一。膀胱感染也被稱爲尿路感染(UTI)。這是因爲膀胱是尿路的一部分。 你的尿路包括腎臟、輸尿管和尿道。 膀胱感染是由於細菌進入你的膀胱並快速繁殖。這會引起疼痛,讓你感到噁心。如果不治療,膀胱感染可能蔓延到腎臟。腎臟感染很危險,在極端情況下,可能導致永久性損傷和死亡。

體徵和症狀

膀胱感染的主要跡象就是小便時疼痛。 當你患有脊髓損傷時,你可能因爲感覺遲鈍而覺不出疼痛。 膀胱感染還有許多其它跡象。 學會識別症狀,以便你的炎症儘早得到治療。 如果你認爲你有膀胱感染,請聯絡你的醫生。

尿路症狀 身體症狀
小便時疼痛或灼痛 發燒(約38oC)
小便更經常 感覺噁心
膀胱(腹部)疼痛 噁心或嘔吐
混濁和難聞的尿味 肌肉痙攣增加
尿中帶血 發冷
經常尿漏 自主神經反射異常[1]
膀胱感染是一種尿路感染或UTI。

¹自主神經反射異常影響損傷在T6以上的患者。 這是一種應該馬上治療的醫療緊急情況。 要了解更多信息,請查閲 Spinal Cord Essentials 自主神經反射異常 講義。

诊断

膀胱感染的測試是通過尿驗來完成的。 檢測尿液中的細菌、白血球和其它化學物質。 有時候,醫生可能會做細菌培養,以便找出最佳治療方案。

脊髓損傷患者的尿液中常見有細菌。 如果這些細菌沒有讓你生病,你的醫生可能不會做出處理。 太經常使用抗生素往往會導致超級細菌(耐抗生素細菌)。 超級細菌很難治療,會讓你病得更厲害。

治療

治療膀胱感染的主要藥物就是抗生素。 此外,喝大量的水會有助於沖洗膀胱。 有時候也建議服用維生素C和蔓越莓汁。 維生素C對你的免疫系統有好處。 也有人建議蔓越莓汁對膀胱感染有幫助。

清潔和消毒技術: 如果使用導尿管,確保每件東西都非常乾淨或已消毒。導尿管不乾淨是造成膀胱感染的一個主要原因。
防止膀胱感染

如果你使用導尿管,膀胱感染的風險也隨之增高。 細菌可以通過不乾淨的導尿管或因衛生條件差而進入你的膀胱。 請始終使用清潔或經消毒的導尿管。

膀胱内長時間有尿留存也會增加膀胱感染的風險, 這可能是由於膀胱過滿或沒有完全清空。 應始終保持一個時間表,定時清空你的膀胱。 嘗試每次有400到600 毫升的尿量。 確認它完全清空。

如果你使用尿袋,確保不要彎折或堵塞管道。連接尿袋時,始終要用酒精棉簽清潔連接器。 此外,還要確保經常清理你的引流袋。 要了解更多信息,請查閲 Spinal Cord Essentials 清潔你的引流袋 講義。

其它可以用來防止膀胱感染的方法有:
  • 經常洗澡,保持生殖器部位的清潔。
  • 保持水分。 每天喝2-3升(8-12杯)液體。
  • 排便時及發生大便失禁後要保持清潔。
免責聲明:

Bladder and Urinary Tract Infection

Download

Bladder infections are one of the most common health issues after spinal cord injury. A bladder infection is also called a urinary tract infection (UTI). This is because the bladder is part of your urinary tract. Your urinary tract includes your kidneys, urethra, and ureters. Bladder infections happen when bacteria enter your bladder and multiply quickly. This can cause pain and make you feel sick. If not treated, a bladder infection can spread to the kidneys. A kidney infection is dangerous and in extreme cases can cause permanent damage and death.

Signs and Symptoms

The main sign of a bladder infection is pain when peeing. When you have a spinal cord injury, you might not be able to feel pain because of poor feeling. There are many other signs of a bladder infection. Learn to recognize the symptoms so that you can treat the infection early. If you think you have a bladder infection, contact your doctor.

Urinary Symptoms Body Symptoms
Pain or burning when peeing Fever (above 38oC)
Need to pee more often Feeling sick
Bladder (abdomen) pain Nausea or vomiting
Cloudy and bad smelling urine Increased muscle spasms
Blood in urine Chills
Frequent urine leaks Autonomic Dysreflexia[1]
Bladder infection is a type of urinary tract infection or UTI

¹Autonomic dysreflexia affects people with injuries at or above T6. It is a medical emergency that should be treated right away. To learn more, check out the Spinal Cord Essentials Autonomic Dysreflexia handout

Diagnosis

Testing for a bladder infection is done through a urine test. Urine is tested for bacteria, white blood cells, and other chemicals. Sometimes, a doctor might do a bacteria culture to find out the best treatment to use.

It is common for people with spinal cord injury to have bacteria in the urine. If the bacteria are not making you sick, your doctor might not treat it. Using antibiotics too often can cause superbugs (antibiotic resistant bacteria). Superbugs are difficult to treat and can make your more sick.

Treatment

The main medical treatment for a bladder infection is antibiotics. In addition, drinking lots of water will help flush out your bladder. Taking vitamin C and cranberry juice is sometimes suggested. Vitamin C is good for your immune system. Cranberry juice has been suggested by some to help with bladder infections.

Clean or sterile technique: When using a catheter, make sure everything is very clean or sterile. Dirty catheters are a main cause of bladder infections.
Preventing Bladder Infections

If you use catheters, you are at high risk of bladder infections. Bacteria can get into your bladder through catheters that are not clean or through poor hygiene. Always use a clean or sterile technique when using a catheter.

Having urine in your bladder for a long time puts you at risk of bladder infections. This can be caused by having an overfull bladder or not fully empting your bladder. Always keep a schedule for emptying your bladder. Try to have urine volumes of 400 to 600 mL each time. Make sure it is fully drained when emptying.

If you use a urine bag, make sure that tubes don’t get bent or plugged. Always clean the connectors with alcohol swabs when connecting the bags. Also, make sure you clean your drainage bag frequently. To learn more, check out the Spinal Cord Essentials Cleaning your Drainage Bag handout.

Other things you can do to prevent bladder infections include:
  • Bathe regularly and keep good hygiene of your genital area.
  • Stay hydrated. Drink 2-3 liters (8-12 cups) of fluid per day.
  • Stay clean during bowel routines and after bowel accidents.
Disclaimer: