女性間歇性導尿法 (IC for women)

下載PDF

脊髓損傷後,你可能無法控制你的膀胱。 間歇性導尿法(IC)被用來幫助你通過導尿管排空膀胱。導尿管是一種用來插入膀胱的特殊導管。每天需要做4到6次,每3到6小時一次(間歇性)。 由於你可能感覺不到小便的需求,你需要使用時間表來記住什麽時候應該小便。

做IC可以預防腎臟損傷

按照時間表進行IC對防止腎臟損傷非常重要。 如果你在膀胱内沒有感覺,你可能不知道它什麽時候已滿。 當你的膀胱太滿時,尿液會倒流進你的腎臟,造成永久性損傷。

做IC可以預防膀胱問題

確保按時做IC能幫你防止膀胱意外(失禁)。 如果你不定時做IC,你可能會有漏尿、尿溼自己或患上膀胱感染的風險。 保持皮膚乾爽有助於預防因潮濕引起的皮膚潰爛。

疼痛或不適? 脊髓損傷後,多數患者在做IC時感覺不到任何疼痛。如果你有任何不適,應考慮使用麻醉凝膠。
用具
  • 導尿管
  • 水溶性潤滑劑
  • 4” x 4” 紗布或紙巾
  • 一次性溼紙巾或塗了肥皂的擦洗布
  • 消毒噴霧劑
  • 集尿容器和儲存袋
你的姿勢
  • 坐下,將一只腳提起放在坐墊上。
  • 坐在馬桶或便桶上。
  • 使用較長的導尿管(男用)。 將雙腳放在馬桶座上。
  • 坐在床上,屈膝向外。
每3到6個小時做一次IC。你需要多經常做一次IC取決於你的飲水量和尿量。大多數人每天需要做4或5次IC。與你的醫生談一下有關你應該多經常排空膀胱。
程序
  1. 避免感染! 用肥皂和水清洗雙手。
  2. 擺好姿勢。 如果你洗完手後需要用輪椅,用抹有肥皂的毛巾或濕紙巾擦拭雙手。
  3. 打開抹溼巾和潤滑劑。 打開導尿管,不要取下底部的塑料蓋。
  4. 用手指分開皮膚皺褶(陰唇)。 用鏡子來找到你的尿道口(尿孔)。 如果很難看清楚,你可以用手指觸摸著找。 另一只手用抹巾清潔這個部位。 必須用溼抹巾從上(前)往下(後)擦。 以免細菌傳播,導致感染。
  5. 將潤滑劑噴在紗布或紙巾上。 捏著包裝拿起導尿管。 用紙巾潤滑。
  6. 將引流容器放在能接住尿液的位置。
  7. 用紗布或紙巾將導尿管輕輕插入尿道口。
  8. 在到達膀胱時,你可能會覺得有點阻力。 保持輕微的壓力,直到膀胱放鬆。 不要硬插導尿管。
  9. 當尿液開始流出時你就知道已進入膀胱了。 一旦尿液開始流出,僅將導尿管再往前略微插一點,確保它完全進入膀胱。 不要將它插得太深,這會使膀胱不能完全排空。
  10. 一旦尿液停止流出,將導尿管略微拔出一點,以便排出膀胱較低部位的尿液。 當膀胱排空後,用指尖按住導尿管的開口。 慢慢取出導尿管,丟入垃圾。
  11. 用溼抹巾清潔尿道口,並用手紙擦乾。
防止感染! 做IC時,每樣東西都需要保持乾淨,不要用手直接觸摸導尿管。IC處理不當是導致膀胱感染的主要原因。始終使用消毒導尿管。
完成IC之後
  1. 每次做完IC後,將集尿容器放在平整的表面上,注意有多少尿液量。
  2. 在馬桶中倒空尿液。 每次使用后用水沖洗集尿容器。 將它放入一個超大塑料袋(比如,Ziploc拉鏈袋)中,儲存於一個乾淨的地方。
  3. 清洗雙手。
找到正確的孔洞(尿道口)
第一次做IC時,你可能很難找到你的尿道口。 尿道口位于你的陰蒂下方和陰道上方。 帶放大的鏡子可以幫助你看到這個部位。 如果你錯過尿道口,將導尿管插入了陰道,先將導尿管留在那裡所為記號。 另取一根乾淨的導尿管重新開始。 將乾淨的導尿管插入陰道上方的尿道口中。

選擇導尿管

市場上有許多不同種類和尺寸的導尿管供應。 有較多功能的導尿管往往比較貴。 有時候保險公司能支付一部分費用。 和你的醫生或泌尿科醫生一起,找到適合你的型號。 不同的功能特色包括:

尺寸: 導尿管有各種尺寸。 你的醫生能幫你找到正確的尺寸。
材料: 所用的不同材料有硅膠、尼龍等等。
润滑: 有些導尿管自帶潤滑劑。
頂端樣式: 有些導尿管有不同的頂端樣式,幫助插入。
内置引流袋: 某些導尿管帶有内置引流袋。

可能遇到的問題

無法插入導尿管: 不要硬插導尿管。 如果你無法自己做IC,請馬上就醫。 插入導尿管遇到困難也可能是因爲你沒有用足夠的潤滑劑。 嘗試塗上更多潤滑劑,再慢慢試著插一次。 如果插入導尿管通過括約肌時受阻,讓導尿管在那裏停留片刻,等你的括約肌放鬆並打開。 深呼吸和咳嗽會有所幫助。 如果還是覺得有阻力,休息一下。 過幾分鈡後用根新的導尿管再試一下。 疤痕組織可能會使導尿管插入困難。 如果你插導尿管時經常遇到問題,請與你的醫生談一下。

尿中帶血: 如果導尿管或尿液中帶血,有可能是你的尿道或膀胱受傷了。 如果只有一點點血,多喝水,並按下一個既定時間做IC。 如果持續出血或有很多血,請馬上就醫。 請記住某些食物(比如,甜菜)會使尿液變成粉色或紅色。

膀胱感染: 膀胱感染最常見的症狀就是小便時疼痛。 脊髓損傷後,你可能感覺不到疼痛。 膀胱感染會使你感覺不適,讓你頭痛,並可能導致肌肉痙攣。 混濁難聞的尿液可能是感染的跡象。 如果你有感染症狀,請就醫檢查。 要了解更多信息,請查閲 Spinal Cord Essentials 膀胱感染講義。

自主神經反射異常 (AD): 膀胱脹滿是AD的主要起因之一。 腸道脹滿或皮膚問題也會造成AD。 如果你是T6或以上部位的脊髓損傷,你就有AD的風險。 AD是血壓的危險上升,並且是一種醫療緊急情況。 如果你的血壓上升20-40毫米汞柱,並伴隨症狀,你就有AD。 需要立即處理。 如果不及時治療,會導致中風、癲癇和死亡。 要了解更多信息,請查閲 Spinal Cord Essentials 自主神經反射異常 講義。

如果你有以下AD症狀,你應該儘快排空膀胱:

  • 劇烈頭痛
  • 面部出汗或潮紅
  • 起雞皮疙瘩
  • 肌肉痙攣增加
  • 鼻塞
  • 視力模糊
  • 眼前有斑點
  • 噁心
  • 口腔有金屬味
  • 感覺焦慮
  • 呼吸困難
  • 心律過緩
免責聲明:

Intermittent Catheterization for Women

Download

After spinal cord injury, you might not be able to control your bladder. Intermittent catheterization (IC) is used to help you empty your bladder by using a catheter. A catheter is a special tube that you insert through into your bladder. This needs to be done 4 to 6 times per day every 3 to 6 hours (intermittent). Since you might not feel the need to pee, you need to use a schedule to remember when to do it.

Doing ICs prevents damage to your kidneys

It is very important to do ICs on a schedule to prevent injury to your kidneys. If you do not have feeling in your bladder, you might not know when it’s full. When your bladder gets too full, urine can go back into your kidneys and cause permanent damage.

Doing ICs prevents bladder problems

Making sure you do ICs on a schedule helps prevent bladder accidents (incontinence). If you do not do ICs regularly, you can risk having leaks, wetting yourself or getting a bladder infection. Keeping your skin dry helps prevent skin damage caused by moisture.

Pain or discomfort? After a spinal cord injury, most people do not feel any pain when doing an IC. If you have any discomfort, consider using an numbing gel.
Supplies
  • Catheter
  • Water-soluble lubricant
  • 4” x 4” gauze or paper towel
  • Disposable wet wipes or a soapy wash cloth
  • Disinfectant spray
  • Urine collection container and storage bag
How to Position Yourself
  • Sit with your foot lifted onto your cushion.
  • Sit on the toilet or commode.
  • Use a longer (male) catheter. Put your feet on toilet seat.
  • Sit in bed with your knees bent and pointing out.
Do an IC every 3 to 6 hours. How often you do an IC depends on how much you are drinking and your urine volumes. Most people do ICs about 4 or 5 times per day. Talk with your doctor about how often you should be emptying your bladder.
Procedure
  1. Avoid Infection! Wash your hands with soap and water.
  2. Get into position. If you need to use your wheelchair after washing your hands, wipe your hands with a soapy wash cloth or a wet wipe.
  3. Open the wet wipes and lubricant. Open the catheter keeping the plastic cover on the bottom.
  4. With your fingers separate the folds of skin (labia). Use a mirror to find your meatus (urine hole). If it is too hard to see, you can find it with your finger. Use the other hand to clean the area with a wipe. Always clean from top to bottom with wet wipes. This prevents spreading germs which can lead to an infection.
  5. Spread lubricant on the gauze or paper towel. Pick up the clean catheter by its wrapper. Lubricate it with the paper towel.
  6. Position the drainage container where it can catch the urine.
  7. Use the gauze or towel to gently insert the catheter into your meatus.
  8. When you reach your bladder, you might feel a little resistance. Hold gentle pressure until your bladder relaxes. Never force the catheter.
  9. You know you’re in your bladder when urine starts to flow. Once urine is flowing, insert the catheter only a bit more to make sure it is fully inside your bladder. Don’t push it too far since your bladder may not empty completely.
  10. Once urine stops pull the catheter out a little to drain the lower parts of your bladder. When your bladder is empty place a fingertip over the opening of the catheter. Remove the catheter slowly and throw it into the garbage.
  11. Clean your meatus with a wet wipe and dry using toilet paper.
Avoid Infection! When you do ICs, everything needs to be clean. Do not touch the catheter with your bare hands. Improper ICs is the main cause of bladder infection. Always use a sterile catheter.
When You Finish Your IC
  1. After each IC, place your urine container on a flat surface and note how much urine there is.
  2. Empty the urine into the toilet. Rinse and wash the urine container after each use. Store it in an extra-large plastic bag (e.g. Ziploc) in a clean place.
  3. Wash your hands.
Finding the right hole (meatus)
It can be difficult to find your meatus when first doing an IC. The meatus is located just below your clitoris and above your vagina. A magnified mirror may help you see the area. If you miss your meatus and insert the catheter into the vagina, leave the catheter in as a landmark. Start over with a clean catheter. Insert the clean catheter ABOVE the vagina into the meatus.

Choosing a catheter

There are many different types and sizes of catheters available on the market. Catheters with more features often cost more. Sometimes insurance companies can cover part of the costs. Work with your doctor or urologist to find the right model for you. Different features include:

Size: Catheters come in different sizes. Your doctor can help you find the right size.
Material: Different materials are used including silicon, nylon, etc…
Lubrication: Some catheters come with lubricant already on them.
Tip style: Some catheters have different tip styles to help with insertion.
Built-in Bag: Some catheters have a built-in drainage bag.

Possible Problems

Unable to insert catheter: Never force the catheter. If you cannot do your IC, get medical attention right away. Trouble inserting the catheter could mean you are not using enough lubricant. Try adding more lubricant and inserting it again slowly. If you are having a hard time inserting the catheter past the bladder muscle, hold it in place for a moment. This allows your bladder muscle to relax and open. Taking a deep breath and coughing can help. If you continue to feel resistance, take a break. Try again after a few minutes with a new catheter. Scar tissue can make it difficult to insert the catheter. If you are having trouble inserting the catheter often, speak with your doctor.

Blood in the urine: If there is blood on the catheter or in the urine, you may have an injury in your urethra or bladder. If there is only a little bit of blood, drink lots of water and do the next IC as scheduled. If bleeding continues or there is a lot of blood, get medical attention right away. Remember that some foods (e.g. beets) can cause the urine to be pink or red.

Bladder infection: The most common sign of a bladder infection is pain when peeing. After a spinal cord injury, you might not be able to feel pain. Bladder infections make you feel sick, give you headaches, and can cause increased muscle spasms. Cloudy, bad smelling urine can be a sign of an infection. If you have signs of an infection, get medical attention. To learn more, check out the Spinal Cord Essentials Bladder Infections handout.

Autonomic dysreflexia (AD): Having a full bladder is a main causes of AD. AD can also be caused by a full bowel or skin issues. If you have a complete spinal cord injury at level T6 or above, you are at risk of having AD. AD is a dangerous rise in blood pressure and is a medical emergency. If your blood pressure rises 20-40mmHg and you have symptoms, you have AD. You need to do something right away. If not treated, AD can cause stroke, seizures, and death. To learn more, check out the Spinal Cord Essentials Autonomic Dysreflexia handout.

If you have symptoms of AD, you should empty your bladder as soon as possible:

  • Pounding headache
  • Sweating or flushing of the face
  • Goose bumps
  • Increased muscle spasms
  • Metallic taste in your mouth
  • Feeling of anxiety
  • Nasal congestion
  • Blurred vision
  • Seeing spots
  • Nausea
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Slow heart rate
Disclaimer: Information is provided for educational purposes only. Consult a qualified health professional regarding specific medical concerns or treatment. University Health Network does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by errors or omissions in this publication.