應對長期疼痛 (Coping with Pain)

下載PDF

有時候藥物或其它療法不能使疼痛消失。持續好幾個星期或幾個月的疼痛被稱作為長期或慢性疼痛。脊髓損傷後,對神經或脊髓的傷害往往會造成這類疼痛。如果你的脊髓愈合不是很好,這種疼痛就可能延續數月甚至數年。

這份講義會教你一些應對慢性疼痛的有效技巧。疼痛是發生在你大腦中的一種體驗。通過練習,你可以學會從這種體驗上轉移注意力。嘗試不同的療法,你可以學習控制疼痛而不是放任它控制你,使你能繼續你的日常生活。

疼痛和情緒

疼痛是一種令人不快的情感體驗。它會影響你的情緒和驅動你去做某些事情。 導致感情的壓力和強烈的負面情緒,讓你更加疼痛難忍。你可能會感到悲傷、焦慮、恐懼或沮喪,也很憤怒。 這些情感如果管理不善,可能導致疼痛和情緒的惡性循環。

你的身體就是自己的“天然藥物”

你的大腦和神經以被稱爲神經傳遞素的化學物質為信使相互交流。 許多止痛藥就是通過模仿或停止這些信使來起作用的。 某些療法是用影響你身體對這些物質的生産量來減輕疼痛。 你對應對療法練習得越多,你的身體也就越能對付疼痛。 這裡是一些人體化學物質及其作用:

化學信使 作用
P物質、前列腺素 疼痛
内啡肽、腦啡肽 止痛
皮質醇、腎上腺素 緊張、驚覺
血清素、多巴胺 快樂
放鬆和壓力管理

疼痛會讓你感到壓力和沮喪。 這種壓力會影響你的情緒,使你的身體更加緊張,導致疼痛更趨劇烈。 減輕壓力的活動可以減少疼痛,幫助你應對疼痛。 放鬆的技巧有助於平靜你的情緒,改善睡眠、心情、注意力和免疫系統。

提示: 每種技巧都多試幾次,對心的鍛煉就像身體的鍛煉一樣。每練習一次,你的心就更堅強一些,應對疼痛也就變得更容易一些。
呼吸練習(腹式呼吸)

呼吸練習能改善氧氣的攝入量,降低壓力,減少肌肉的緊張。 在對付疼痛和改善睡眠上都有幫助。 以下練習描述了一種腹部呼吸法(腹式呼吸)。

  1. 坐在舒適的椅子裏或背部平躺。
  2. 將一只手放在腹部,另一只手放在胸口。
  3. 深長緩慢地呼吸。 你應該試著將空氣深吸入腹。 用鼻子吸氣,用嘴巴呼氣。
  4. 吸氣時,放在腹部的手應比放在胸口的手擡得更高。 呼氣時,放在腹部的手應比放在胸口的手下得更深。
  5. 正常呼吸大約為每分鐘16-20次。 你在這個練習中的目標是每分鐘六到十次。 不要在呼吸之間憋氣。 你可能需要練習才能達到這麽低。
  6. 在你專注于緩慢呼吸的同時,排除雜念或運用心像。
  7. 以20分鐘或更久為目標。
心像練習

在心裏想像平和與積極的畫面可以幫助你將注意力從疼痛上移開。 有許多心像技巧的例子。 有些是想像美麗的風景或過去的美好經驗。 另一些是一次放鬆一個特定的身體部位。 學習使用心像讓你的心在疼痛時有個新的去處。 疼痛可能仍然存在,但不再那麽關注。吸入藍色,呼出紅色 是應用心像放鬆和呼吸的例子。

  1. 以坐位或躺位,閉上你的眼睛。
  2. 每次吸氣,在心中想像你吸入平靜和安寧。
  3. 每次呼氣,想像你呼出壓力和疼痛。
  4. 想像 積極、平靜的情緒是藍色的 空氣,隨著每次呼吸進入你的鼻子。
  5. 想像負面情緒和疼痛為紅色的 空氣,隨著每次呼吸離開你的嘴巴。
  6. 以腹部呼吸(見上述),努力做20分鐘以上。
冥想和祈禱

冥想和祈禱是以更強大的力量來連接你的身心的方法。 通過練習,你能夠將心置於讓疼痛變得非常溫和平靜的地方。 如果你信教,祈禱或冥想可能已經是你的功課了。 冥想可以但不一定是一種宗教或精神的體驗。 但它也可以幫助你放鬆。 冥想應與腹部呼吸一起做。 你的眼睛可以睜開或閉上。 你可以用坐姿或躺姿。 某些不同的冥想方式包括:

  • 排除雜念
  • 使用想像
  • 使用咒語(大聲或在心裏重復一個字或短語)
提示: 搜索一下互聯網,查找呼吸、想像和冥想。有很多音頻和視頻源可以給你提供指導(例如youtube.com)。
鍛煉和節省體力

健康的生活方式需要平衡工作、鍛煉、日常瑣事、娛樂和睡眠。 這些事情中的任何一件做太多或太少都會加劇疼痛。 傾聽你的身體,找出適合你的平衡。

鍛煉

鍛煉是控制長期疼痛的最有效方式之一。 鍛煉還可以改善血液流動、呼吸和睡眠。 你可以去健身房、健身班或就在自己家裏鍛煉。 有關脊髓損傷后你需要多少鍛煉,有一些原則需要遵守。 如果你長期沒有鍛煉,要慢慢努力來實現這些目標。 你應該試著每星期做兩次有氧和力量鍛煉。

  • 有氧活動:做至少20分鐘的中度到劇烈運動。 你可以用推輪椅、臂力搖車鍛煉、騎車或使用減重跑步機。
  • 力量訓練:鍛煉每個主要肌肉群,做三組,每組重復做8-10次。 主要肌肉群包括你的手臂、肩膀、胸部、背部、大腿和小腿。 鍛煉你可以運動的肌肉。 你可以做自由重體器械、彈性阻力帶、負重器械或功能性電刺激。
提示: 參加某個課程或支持小組有助於你安排時間,為自己做些事情。有很多選項,包括冥想班、瑜伽班、鍛煉和興趣愛好班。
節省體力

疼痛會消耗你的體力。 如果疼痛發作時日常活動都會有困難。 平衡補充能量的活動和消耗體力的活動有助於你控制疼痛。 這裡有幾個訣竅:

  • 規劃 你的活動,將它們分散到天或星期。
  • 優先考慮最要緊的事情。 有時你可能需要取消某項活動來完成其它事情。
  • 保持工作的節奏, 不要匆忙行事, 每小時安排3-5分鐘的休息。
  • 排除某些無關緊要的活動。
  • 委託他人替你完成任務。
  • 整理你的家,讓它略顯淩亂。 將你常用的要緊事情放在容易取放的地方。
  • 裝備你自己,適當的工作要有適當的工具。
睡眠

睡個好覺是控制疼痛的一個重要部分。 成年人每晚需要7-8小時的睡眠。 許多患有慢性疼痛的人都有睡眠問題。 這裡有一些方法,可以幫助你的身體得到所需的休息。

  • 按照你通常的睡眠習慣,按時上床。
  • 換上舒適的衣服,並在臥室保持良好的室溫。
  • 讓你的臥室僅供睡覺使用;不要用來工作或做有壓力的活動。
  • 使用額外的枕頭,讓身體在床上躺得舒適。
  • 嘗試利用放鬆或呼吸技巧在上床前或上床後減少壓力。
  • 睡覺前讀讀書,寫寫日記或聼聼輕音樂,放鬆身心。
健康的生活方式: 保持良好健康的第一步是培養健康的生活方式。均衡飲食、定期鍛煉和喝足量的水都有幫助。
自我對話與表達技巧

你的想法、思維方式和行爲會影響你的疼痛體驗。 組織你響應疼痛的想法和行動有助於你對它有更深的理解。 尋找創造性的方法來表達你的疼痛可以幫助你更好地應對和發現有益的解決方案。

Self-talk

自我對話是在你大腦中和你自己的交談。 這是可以用文字、圖像和聲音形式表達的思想語言。 疼痛會造成消極的自我對話,影響你的情緒和動機。 而消極的自我對話也會使疼痛更甚或影響你的行動。 學習什麽會誘觸發消極的自我對話並及早制止可以改善你應對疼痛的能力。 當你了解了你的自我對話後,你就有能力改變它影響你的行爲和情緒的方式。
我們很多的想法都是無意識的。 你可以通過了解自己的無意識想法和思維選擇來提高你的自我對話。 記錄自我對話是一種很好的鍛煉方法。 你可以在對付疼痛或你生活中的其它事件上試試這一辦法。 完成這項練習時不要着急。

  • 事件:想想你的疼痛, 只寫下有關疼痛的事實(不要有假設)。
  • 情緒:寫下你的疼痛對情緒造成的影響(例如,煩躁、緊張、憤怒、悲傷、焦慮、害怕等等)。
  • 無意識思想: 寫下你感覺疼痛時所有的想法(自我對話)。 盡可能誠實。 這可能要花幾分鈡。
  • 事實檢測: 就你的想法詢問自己以下問題。
    • 是否還有其它方式看待這種情況?
    • 我害怕什麽事情的發生?
    • 我有什麽事實來説明這種事情會發生?
    • 是否有事實與這種結論不符?
    • 有什麽樣的應對資源可用?
    • 我在以往是否只有失敗的經驗,或者也有時候做得不錯?
    • 有時候我做得沒有那麽理想,但也有時候我做得很好。 這兩者之間有什麽差別?
  • 替代想法: 寫下在這種情況下可以有的替代想法。 你怎麽能更理性地看待這一事件?
表達技巧

某些技巧可以幫助你組織你有關疼痛的想法。 尋找對疼痛的不同表達方式有助於你對它有更好的理解。 通過用創造性方式表述你的疼痛,會將這種體驗排出你的頭腦,放歸世界。 它給你提供一個指向,幫助你和他人理解你的疼痛。 一種方法是通過寫日記。 另一種你可以嘗試的方法是用比如詩歌、繪畫和歌曲等藝術形式來表達你的疼痛。 與他人分享你的作品也可以幫助他們理解你的經歷。 有一種簡單的練習叫做 拼圖練習。 要做這個練習,你需要: 舊雜誌、一張大紙或大紙板、剪刀和膠水棒。

  1. 從舊雜誌上剪下一系列圖片。 圖片内不應包含任何文字。
  2. 挑選説明一下事項的圖片:
    • 你是誰
    • 你的疼痛
    • 你如何應對你的疼痛
  3. 將圖片粘到紙上。/li>
  4. 花點時間來思考完成的作品。 與朋友或家庭成員分享。
與專家談談

有時候你可能覺得你需要找一個專家來談談你的疼痛和你的問題。 心理學家和社會工作者都受過專門訓練,可以在你的想法和行爲上為你提供幫助。 他們可以幫你分析你的想法和行爲。 幫你發現你沒有意識到的新的疼痛誘因。 也可以就如何改變你的想法和行爲,更好地應對疼痛提出建議。

免責聲明:

Coping with Long Term Pain

Download

Sometimes pain does not go away with medications or other treatments. Pain that lasts many weeks or months is called long-term or chronic pain. After a spinal cord injury, this kind of pain is often caused by damage to your nerves or spinal cord. When your spinal cord does not heal very well, this pain can last for months or even years. This handout will teach some helpful tips for coping with chronic pain.

Pain is an experience that happens in your brain. With practice, you can learn to shift focus away from that experience. By trying different strategies, you can learn to control pain instead of letting it control you. This allows you to get on with your day-to-day life.

Pain and your Mood

Pain is an unpleasant and emotional experience. It can affect your mood and your drive to do things. It can lead to feelings of stress and intense negative emotions that make your pain feel worse. You might feel sad, anxious, fearful or frustrated, and angry a lot. These feelings, if not managed well, can lead to a vicious cycle of pain and emotions.

Your Body’s Own ‘Natural Medications’

Your brain and nerves communicate with chemical messengers called neurotransmitters. Many pain medications work by copying or stopping the actions of these messengers. Some strategies can reduce pain by affecting how much your body produces them. The more you practice pain coping strategies, the better your body gets at dealing with pain. Here are some of your body’s chemicals and their actions:

Chemical Messenger Action
Substance P, prostaglandins Pain
Endorphin, enkephalin Painkilling
Cortisol, adrenaline Stress, alertness
Serotonin, dopamine Happiness
Relaxation and Stress Management

Pain can make you stressed and upset. This stress can affect your mood, make your body more tense, and cause your pain to get worse. Activities that reduce stress can reduce pain and help you cope with your pain. Relaxation techniques can help calm you and improve your sleep, mood, focus, and immune system.

Tip: Try each technique more than once. Training your mind is like training your muscles. Each time you practice, your mind will get stronger and it will get easier.
Breathing Exercises (Belly Breathing)

Breathing exercises improve oxygen intake, reduce stress, and reduce muscle tension. They help with your pain and sleep. The following exercise describes a belly breathing technique (abdominal breathing).

  1. Sit in a comfortable chair or lie on your back.
  2. Place one hand on your belly and the other hand in the middle of your chest.
  3. Take long, slow breaths. You should try to bring the air deep into your belly. Breathe in with your nose and out with your mouth.
  4. When you inhale, the hand on your belly should move further out than the hand on your chest. When you exhale, the hand on your belly should go deeper than the hand on your chest.
  5. Normal breathing is about 16-20 breaths per minute. Your goal in this exercise is to have six to ten breaths per minute. Do not hold your breath between breaths. You might need to practice to get it this low.
  6. Clear your mind or use imagery while focusing on your slow breathing.
  7. Aim to do this for 20 minutes or more.
Imagery Exercises

Imagining peaceful and positive images in your mind can help move your mind away from pain. There are many examples of imagery techniques. Some involve picturing beautiful scenery or past experiences. Others involve relaxing specific body parts one at a time. Learning to use imagery gives your mind a new place to go when you are in pain. The pain might still be there but less attention is given to it. Inhale Blue, Exhale Red is an example of using imagery with relaxation and breathing.

  1. In a seated or lying position, close your eyes.
  2. Each time you inhale, picture in your mind that you are inhaling peace and quiet.
  3. Each time you exhale, picture that you are exhaling stress and pain.
  4. Imagine that the positive, peaceful emotions are blue-coloured air entering your nose with every breath
  5. Imagine that the negative emotions and pain are red-coloured air leaving your mouth with every breath.
  6. Aim to do this for 20 minutes or more while belly breathing (see above).
Meditation and Prayer
Meditation and prayer are ways to connect with a greater power, your mind, and/or your body. With practice, you can bring your mind to places where pain is very quiet. If you practice a religion, prayer or meditation might already be something you do. Meditation can but doesn’t have to be a religious or spiritual experience. It can, however, help you relax. Meditation should be done while belly breathing. Your eyes can be opened or closed. You can be seated or lying down. Some different ways to meditate include:
  • clearing your mind
  • using imagery
  • using a mantra (repeating a word or short phrase out loud or in your mind)
Tip: Try searching the internet for breathing, imagery, and/or meditation. There are lots of audio and video resources which can guide you (e.g. www.youtube.com).
Exercise and Saving Energy

Healthy living involves balancing work, exercise, day-to-day tasks, recreation, and sleep. Doing too much or too little of any of these can make your pain worse. Listen to your body and find the balance that works for you.

Exercise

Exercise is one of the most effective ways to manage long-term pain. Exercise also improves blood flow, breathing, and sleep. It can be done at a gym, in exercise classes, or in your own home. There are guidelines on how much exercise you need after a spinal cord injury. If you have not exercised in a long time, slowly work towards reaching these goals. You should try to do both aerobic and strength exercises two times per week.

  • Aerobic activity: Do at least 20 minutes of moderate to vigorous intensity. You can do this by wheeling, arm cycling, cycling, or body-weight supported treadmill.
  • Strength training: Exercise each major muscle group by doing three sets of 8-10 repetitions. Major muscle groups include your arms, shoulders, chest, back, upper legs, and lower legs. Exercise the muscles that you can. You can do this with free weights, elastic resistance bands, weight machines, or functional electrical stimulation.
Tip: Joining a class or support group can help you schedule time to do things for yourself. There are many options including classes for meditation, yoga, exercise, and hobbies.
Energy Conservation
Pain can take away your body’s energy. Day-to-day activities can be difficult when your pain flares up. Balancing energy-giving activities with energy-draining activities can help to manage your pain. Here are a few tricks:
  • Plan your activities by spreading them throughout the day and week.
  • Prioritize what is most important. Sometimes you might need to cancel an activity to complete something else.
  • Pace your tasks. Don’t rush things. Schedule 3-5min breaks every hour.
  • Eliminate some activities which are not important.
  • Delegate by letting someone else complete tasks for you.
  • Organize your home to have little clutter. Keep important things that you use often in easy to reach locations.
  • Equip yourself with the right tools for the right job.
Sleep
Getting a good night’s sleep is an important part of pain control. Adults need 7-8 hours of sleep every night. Many people with chronic pain have trouble sleeping. Here are some things that can help you get the rest your body needs.
  • Go to bed at a regular hour to get your body used to a sleep pattern.
  • Wear comfortable clothing and keep a good temperature in the bedroom.
  • Make your bedroom a place for sleep only; not for work or stressful activities.
  • Get comfortable by using extra pillows to position your body in your bed.
  • Try relaxation or breathing techniques to reduce stress before or while in bed.
  • Read, journal, or listen to soft music before bed to help relax your mind.
Healthy Lifestyle: The first step to good health is leading a healthy lifestyle. Eating a balanced diet, exercising regularly, and drinking enough water always help.
Self-talk and Expressive Techniques

Your thoughts, thinking style, and actions affect your pain experience. Organizing how your thoughts and actions respond to pain helps you understand it better. Finding creative ways to express your pain can help you better cope and come up with healthy solutions.

Self-talk

Self-talk is your own personal conversation that happens in your head. It’s the language of your thoughts and can happen with words, images, and sounds. Pain can cause negative self-talk which affects your mood and motivation. Negative self-talk can also cause your pain to get worse or affect your actions. Learning what triggers negative self-talk and stopping it early can improve how you cope with pain. When you understand your own self-talk, you have the power to change the way it affects your actions and emotions.

A lot of our thoughts are automatic. You can improve your self-talk by becoming aware of your automatic thoughts and thinking of alternatives. A good exercise is making a Self-Talk Record. You can try this for pain or other events in your life. Take your time when completing this exercise.
  • Event: Think about your pain. Write down only the facts about your pain (no assumptions).
  • Emotions: Write down the emotions your pain causes you to feel (e.g., irritated, stressed, angry, sad, anxious, afraid, etc.).
  • Automatic Thoughts: Write down all the thoughts (self‐talk) you have when you experience pain. Be as honest as possible. It might take a few minutes.
  • Reality Check: Ask yourself questions about your thoughts.
    • Are there other ways of looking at this situation?
    • What am I afraid will occur?
    • What facts do I have that this outcome will happen?
    • Are there facts that disagree with this conclusion?
    • What coping resources are available?
    • Have I only had failures in the past, or were there times I did okay?
    • There are times when I don’t do as well as I would like, but other times when I do. What are the differences between those times?
  • Alternative Thoughts: Write down alternative thoughts you could have about the situation. How could you view the event more rationally?
Expressive Techniques

Some techniques help you organize your thoughts about your pain. Finding different ways to express yourself about your pain can help you better understand it. By expressing your pain in creative ways, it takes the experience out of your head and puts in into the world. It gives you something to point to. This can help you and others understand your pain better. One way to try this is by journaling. Another way you can try to express your pain is with art like poetry, painting, and song. Sharing your work with others can also be a way to help them understand what you’re going through. A simple exercise is a Collage Exercise. For this exercise, you will need: old magazines, a large paper or cardboard surface, scissors, and a glue stick.

  1. Cut out a collection of pictures from old magazines. The pictures should not contain any words.
  2. Select pictures which illustrate the following:
    • Who you are
    • Your pain
    • How you cope with your pain
  3. Glue the pictures on the paper surface.
  4. Take time to reflect about the finished product. Share it friends or family members.
Speak with a Professional

Sometimes you might feel like you need to talk to a professional about your pain and your problems. Psychologists and social workers are trained to help you with your thoughts and actions. They can help you analyze your thoughts and behavior. They can help you find new triggers for your pain that you were not aware of. They can also make suggestions on how to change your thoughts and behaviours to better cope with pain.

Disclaimer: Information is provided for educational purposes only. Consult a qualified health professional regarding specific medical concerns or treatment. University Health Network does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by errors or omissions in this publication.