自主神經異常反射 (AD)

下載PDF

自主神經異常反射(AD)是一種脊髓損傷后可能發生的血壓危險上升。 它會影響脊髓損傷高於T6水平以上的患者。 AD發生時,你在沒有任何知覺的區域内感到疼痛或不適。 最常見的AD原因是腸道或膀胱滿了。 當你有AD時,你同時還會有其它體徵和症狀。 如果你有這些症狀,你需要立即解決問題。 AD是一種醫療緊急情況。 如果不及時治療,會導致中風、心臟病發作、癲癇和死亡。

症狀

AD是血壓突然上升20-40毫米汞柱,並伴隨著其它症狀。 由於你無法感覺血壓的上升,你需要知道AD的跡象和症狀。 如果你有這些症狀中的任何一種,請馬上檢查你的血壓。 AD症狀的發生很突然。 如果你無法檢查你的血壓,請立即去看醫生。

自主神經異常反射的症狀
*血壓上升20-40毫米汞柱*
劇烈頭痛 鼻塞
面部出汗或潮紅 視力模糊
起雞皮疙瘩 眼前有斑點
增加肌肉痙攣 噁心
口腔有金屬味 呼吸困難
感覺焦慮 心律過緩
治療: 坐起有助於降低你的血壓。發現並消除造成AD的原因。檢查你的膀胱、腸道和皮膚。如果你的血壓居高不下,請馬上就醫。
了解你的平常血壓

要知道你的血壓是否升高,你需要知道你平時的血壓。 脊髓損傷后,血壓往往較低。 許多損傷水平在T6以上的患者的收縮壓在90到110(最大值)。 某些人可能更低。 這些人的血壓如果高於130就可能是AD的跡象。

教你的家人、朋友和護理人員如何幫你度過AD事件。
如果你有症狀怎麽辦

AD是一種嚴重狀況,必須馬上治療。 一旦起因得到處理,你的血壓就應該降下來。 症狀也應消失。 如果你的血壓仍居高不下,請去最近的急診部門就醫。

第一步: 檢查你的血壓

如果你躺著,先坐起來,放下雙腿。 這會有助於降低你的血壓。 檢測你的血壓,看看是否高(上升20-40毫米汞柱)。 如果高,那就是緊急情況。 每5分鐘量一下血壓,看它是否下降。 在家裏備一個血壓計。 這在大多數藥房都可以買到。

第二步: 檢查並清空你的膀胱

膀胱滿了會引起AD。 AD的一種治療就是清空膀胱。 為降低你的風險,要定期排空你的膀胱。 如果你使用間歇性導尿,用麻木凝膠會有幫助。 其它與膀胱有關,會導致AD的事件包括:

  • 尿液引流管(弗利導尿管或避孕套導管)堵塞或扭結。
  • 避孕套導管設置得過緊。
  • 尿道感染或膀胱/腎結石。
  • 膀胱檢查(尿流動力學檢查、膀胱鏡檢查)。 麻木凝膠會有幫助。
第三步。 檢查並清空你的腸道

腸道滿了會引起AD。 通過直腸觸摸,檢查腸道糞便。 如果你的腸道内有糞便,使用你的常規方法輕輕排出。 你的腸道排便方案有可能會誘發AD。 在這種情況下,你可以在進行腸道排便時使用麻木凝膠。 保持定時排便的習慣能降低你的風險。 其它與腸道有關,會導致AD的事件包括:

  • 痔瘡
  • 肛裂
第四步。 檢查你的皮膚

皮膚發炎和壓點也會引起AD。 這可能是由於衣服太緊、鞋子太緊或坐的地方太硬。 極熱極冷或對皮膚的壓力會導致AD。 確保不要有東西壓迫你的皮膚。 其它與皮膚有關,會導致AD的事件包括:

  • 嵌甲
  • 曬傷
  • 割傷或灼傷
  • 外傷(例如骨折)
  • 壓住陰囊
  • 腳趾在鞋内彎曲
  • 衣服太緊或衣服打褶
  • 昆蟲叮咬
  • 水皰
  • 褥瘡
AD影響損傷水平T6以上的患者。大多數人在受傷后6個月内會有AD。幾乎所有患者都會在第一年經歷一次。
其它AD的起因

性行爲 可以導致AD, 原因可以包括性交、振盪器、擠壓生殖器、性高潮和射精。 其它原因可能來自于痛經和分娩。

醫療狀況 也可能造成AD, 這些包括胃潰瘍、心臟病發作、哮喘、肺部感染和你腿部的血栓。 如果你不能發現AD的病源,請立即就醫。

如果你的血壓居高不下,請立刻就醫

如果你的血壓不回復正常,請立即去最近的急診部門。 不要開車。 通知醫院工作人員你有AD並且情況嚴重。 急診室人員不一定了解脊髓損傷患者的特殊需求。 帶上AD卡會有幫助。

攜帶AD卡

隨身攜帶一張錢包大小的卡片,這在緊急情況下會有幫助。 卡片上解釋警示標誌,説明該如何處理。 AD卡上應寫上你的正常血壓。 將你的AD卡交給醫務人員,請他們立即測量你的血壓。 你可能需要藥物來降低血壓。

<搜索一下互聯網,看有沒有可列印的錢包尺寸AD卡。 這些網站都有:

  • Paralyzed Veterans of America(美國退伍軍人協會)
  • Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation(Christopher和Dana Reeve 基金會)
事實:: AD是一種醫療緊急情況,必須立即治療。如果不治療,AD會導致心臟病發作、中風、 癲癇和死亡。
如何防止AD
避免這些誘因是防止AD的關鍵。
  • 穿寬鬆的衣服。
  • 遵循日常排尿日程。
  • 遵循日常排便日程。
  • 確保管道通暢(弗利導尿管或避孕套導管)。
  • 定期檢查你的皮膚。
  • 保持衣服和床單平整。
  • 定期作足部護理,防止嵌甲。
  • 及早治療炎症(例如膀胱感染)。
免責聲明:

Autonomic Dysreflexia

Download

Autonomic dysreflexia (AD) is a dangerous rise in blood pressure that can happen after spinal cord injury. It affects people who have a spinal injury at level T6 or above. AD happens when you have pain or discomfort in the areas of your body that have no feeling. The most common cause of AD is a full bowel or bladder. When you have AD, you have other signs and symptoms at the same time. If you have these symptoms, you need to fix the problem right away. AD is a medical emergency. If not treated, it can cause stroke, heart attack, seizure, and death.

Symptoms

AD is a sudden rise in blood pressure by 20-40mmHg that happens with other symptoms. Since you cannot feel your blood pressure rising, you need to know the signs and symptoms of AD. If you have any of these symptoms, check your blood pressure right away. Symptoms of AD start suddenly. If you can’t check your blood pressure, see a doctor right away.

Symptoms of Autonomic Dysreflexia
*Blood pressure increase by 20-40mmhg*
Pounding Head Nasal congestion
Sweating and flushing of the face Blurred vision
Goosebumps Seeing Spots
Increased Muscle Spasms Nausea
Metallic taste in your mouth Difficulty breathing
feeling of anxiety Slow heart rate
Treatment: Sit up to help lower your blood pressure. Find and remove the cause of AD. Check your bladder, check your bowel, and check your skin. If your blood pressure does not go down, get medical attention right away.
Know your usual blood pressure

To know if your blood pressure has increased, you need to know your usual blood pressure. After spinal cord injury, blood pressure is often lower. Many people with an injury level of T6 and above can have systolic blood pressure of 90 to 110 (upper number). For some people it can be even lower. For these people, blood pressure above 130 can be a sign of AD.

Teach your family, friends and caregivers how to help you through an episode of AD.
What to do if you have symptoms

AD is a serious condition that must be treated right away. Once the cause has been treated, your blood pressure should go down. The symptoms should also go away. If your blood pressure stays high, go to the nearest emergency department.

Step 1: Check your blood pressure

Sit up and lower your legs if you are lying down. This will help lower your blood pressure. Check your blood pressure to see if it is high (20-40mmHg increase). If it’s high, it’s an emergency. Check your blood pressure every 5 minutes to see if it comes down. Keep a blood pressure monitor at home. They can be purchased at most drug stores.

Step 2: Check and empty your bladder
A full bladder can cause AD. One treatment for AD is emptying your bladder. To reduce your risk, keep a regular schedule for emptying your bladder. If you use intermittent catheterization, a numbing gel can help. Other events related to your bladder that can cause AD include:
  • Blocked or kinked urine drainage tubes (Foley catheter or condom catheters).
  • A condom catheter that is set too tight.
  • Urinary tract infections or bladder/kidney stones.
  • Bladder tests (urodynamics, cystoscopy). Numbing gel can help.
Step 3. Check and empty your bowel
A full bowel can cause AD. Check your bowel for stool by doing a rectal touch. If stool is present in your bowel, gently remove it using your regular method. It is possible that your bowel program is a trigger for AD. If this is the case, you can use numbing gel during your bowel program. Always keep a regular bowel routine to reduce your risk. Other events related to your bowel that can cause AD include:
  • hemorrhoids
  • Anal fissures
Step 4. Check your skin
Irritated skin and pressure points can cause AD. This can happen from tight clothing, tight shoes, or sitting on something hard. Extreme heat, cold, or pressure on your skin can cause AD. Make sure nothing is pressing on your skin. Other events related to your skin that can cause AD include:
  • Ingrown toenail
  • bent toe in your shoe
  • sunburn
  • tight or bunched up clothing
  • cuts and burns
  • Insect bites
  • trauma (e.g. broken bone)
  • Blisters
  • Pressure on Scrotum
  • Pressure Sore
AD affects people with an injury level of T6 and above. Most people have AD within 6 months of the injury. Almost everyone has an episode within the first year.
Other Causes of AD

Sexual activity can lead to AD. Causes can include intercourse, vibrators, pinched genitalia, orgasm, and ejaculation. Other causes can come from menstrual cramps, and child birth.

Medical conditions can also cause AD. These include stomach ulcers, heart attack, asthma, lung infections, and blood clots in your legs. If you cannot find the source of AD, get medical attention right away.

If your blood pressure stays high, get medical attention.

If your blood pressure does not go back to normal, go to the nearest emergency department. Do not drive. Inform hospital staff that you have AD and that it is a serious condition. Emergency room workers are not always aware of the special needs of people with spinal cord injuries. Carrying an AD card can be helpful.

Carry an AD card

Keeping a wallet sized card with you at all times can help in an emergency. It explains the warning signs and describes what to do. Write your normal blood pressure on your AD card. Give hospital staff your AD card and ask them to check your blood pressure right away. You may need medicine to bring your blood pressure down.

Try searching the internet for a printable wallet sized AD card. These websites have one:
  • Paralyzed Veterans of America
  • Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation
Fact: AD is a medical emergency that must be treated immediately. If not treated, AD can lead to heart attack, stroke, seizure, and death.How to prevent AD can lead to heart attack, stroke, seizure, and death.
How to Prevent AD
Avoiding these triggers is the key to preventing AD.
  • Wear loose clothing
  • Follow a regular bladder schedule.
  • Follow a regular bowel schedule.
  • Make sure that tubing is draining well (Foley and condom catheters).
  • Check your skin regularly.
  • Keep clothing and bedsheets free of wrinkles.
  • Perform regular foot care to prevent ingrown toenails.
  • Treat infections early (e.g. bladder infections).
Disclaimer: Information is provided for educational purposes only. Consult a qualified health professional regarding specific medical concerns or treatment. University Health Network does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by errors or omissions in this publication.